top of page

RAD Dance Challenge and Bedells Bursary

We are absolutely thrilled to announce our students’ success at this years RAD Dance Challenge and Bedells Bursary competitions in London. Seven DC students travelled down to compete and out of five possible awards, Danscentre students were awarded four. What unprecedented success!

The Dance Challenge provides candidates the opportunity to be part of the creative process and are judged on the choreography and performance of their own solo variation. The Bedells Bursary was established to encourage talented young dancers to further their career in classical ballet. This competition recognises young dancers excellence and artistic and technical achievement and provides opportunities for creativity. This year’s judges for both competitions were former Artistic Director, Lynn Wallis OBE, Principal Dancer with the Royal Ballet Anna-Rose O’ Sullivan and David McAllister vice president and ex-director of The Australian Ballet. Huge congratulations to all winners and also to all other dancers who took part and what a wonderful result for Danscentre. Check out the slideshow below of pictures from the event:

RAD Dance Challenge

The seven students who took part in the RAD Dance Challenge competition were Erin Eastaugh, Ava-Lily Reid, Katie Richardson, Oliver Murray. Beatrix Louis, Kiera Hair and Morven Aitkenhead. Candidates were judged on their performance of a self-choreographed solo with themes including freedom, bridges and journeys. The competition took place over a two day period and the students participated in exciting, non-syllabus Masterclasses with guest tutor and professional performer, Leanne Cope and celebrated teacher and choreographer Darren Parish. They also got the opportunity to rehearse their own choreography onstage in preparation for the following day.

We are so proud of these young students and what they have achieved from this wonderful experience. They truly relished the opportunity and performed to a very high standard. Well done to all involved and especially our winners who took 3 out of the 4 available prizes - see details below!

Beatrix Louis

The Jean Bedells Choreographic Award Level 1 winner of the RAD Dance Challenge.

Keira Hair

The Jean Bedells Choreographic Award Level 2 winner of the RAD Dance Challenge.

Erin Eastaugh

Overall winner of the Antoinette Sibley Scholarship for Levels 1 and 2, pictured alongside Principal Dancer with The Royal Ballet, Anna Rose O’Sullivan.

Bedells Bursary

22 gifted young dancers took part in this competition where candidates were judged on a non-syllabus ballet Masterclass with Gerard Charles, a classical variation and a variation choreographed by themselves. We are absolutely thrilled to announce that the winner of the Choreographic Award was presented to Danscentre student, Scott Milne for his Dancer's Own Solo Twilight. Scott, aged 16, has been on an incredible journey throughout the process in the lead up to the competition, and the DC team are immensely proud of his performance and his achievements. Congratulations Scott!

Scott Milne

Choreographic Award winner provided by the Lynn Wallis Bursary Fund.

We extend our warmest congratulations to the Bursary winner Jakob Wheway and all the other participants. Read the full story on the RAD latest news page here



Sign up here:

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page